Nondiscrimination Notice

  • The Board of Education of the City Schools of Decatur does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, disability, age, marital status, sexual orientation, or gender identity in its employment practices, programs, activities, or student placement. City Schools of Decatur shall not discriminate on the basis of gender in its athletic programs.

Title VI

  •  

    City Schools of Decatur complies with all federal rules and regulations and does not discriminate in access, treatment, or employment in education programs or hiring practices on the basis of race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, sex, sexual orientation including gender expression or identity, marital status, and/or disability.   
     
    Title VI Grievance Procedures (coming soon)
     
     

Title IX

  • What is Title IX?

    No person in the United States shall, on the basis of sex, be excluded from participation in, be denied the benefits of, or be subject to discrimination under any educational program or activity receiving Federal financial assistance.


    (Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972)


    The board of education further recognizes its responsibility in accordance with applicable laws (Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 and its implementing regulations, Title II of the Vocational Education Amendments of 1976, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Americans with Disabilities Act) to ensure that all individuals in a multicultural and diverse society have an equal opportunity in all aspects of the operation of the school system. Therefore, City Schools of Decatur shall actively promote equality and equity in all academic and co-curricular programs. (Board Policy: Equal Educational  Opportunities, JAA)


    Below is a list of individuals designated to handle inquiries regarding the District’s Title IX/ non-discrimination policies:


    Title IX Compliance Officer

    Dr. Lillie Huddleston
    Equity Director
    125 Electric Avenue
    Decatur, GA 30030
    TitleIX@csdecatur.net
    404-371-3601, ext. 1026


    Title IX Coordinator for Athletics and Student Activities

    Mr. Rodney Thomas
    310 North McDonough Street
    Decatur, GA 30030
    rthomas@csdecatur.net
    404-301-4176


    Title IX Liaisons -
    School principals/their designees will serve as local Title IX liaisons for each school. You can report discrimination and discriminatory harassment to your school principal, any staff member, or to the district's Title IX Compliance Officer, listed above.

      

    Early Childhood Learning Center:

    Ms. Sarah Garland

    sgarland@csdecatur.net

    Clairemont Elementary School:

    Mr. Billy Heaton

    bheaton@csdecatur.net

    Glennwood Elementary School:

    Dr. Kristy Beam

    kbeam@csdecatur.net

    Oakhurst Elementary School:

    Ms. Tanisha Sanders

    tsanders@csdecatur.net

    Westchester Elementary School:

    Ms. Rochelle Lofstrand

    rlofstrand@csdecatur.net

    Winnona Park Elementary School:

    Ms. Ruth Scott

    rscott@csdecatur.net

    4/5 Academy at Fifth Avenue:

    Ms. Karen Newton

    knewton@csdecatur.net

    Renfroe Middle School:

    Mr. Greg Wiseman

    gwiseman@csdecatur.net 

    Ms. Nicki Parks

    nparks@csdecatur.net

    Decatur High School:

    Ms. Arlethea Williams

    awilliams@csdecatur.net