• Equity Teams


  •  

    Purpose:

    As a part of CSD's Strategic plan, the district is committed to eliminating achievement and opportunity gaps for all students. Our Equity Teams are responsible for facilitating the execution of CSD’s Equity Action Plan throughout the District. We have both local School and District Equity Teams.

     

    Overarching Responsibilities:

    • Engage in and support professional learning related to diversity, equity, and inclusion
    • Review and discuss district data 
    • Advise the development of the district's Equity Action Plan
    • Prioritize action steps

     

    Meetings:  Monthly

     

    District Equity Team Members:

    The District Equity Team is comprised of central office staff, school administrators, and school staff. These individuals comprise a cohort of leaders who collectively recognize the deleterious effects of systemic racism and inequity in CSD; they commit to fighting against racism in all its forms, examining their personal prejudices, and serving as equity leaders responsible for executing CSD’s Equity Action Plan throughout the District. If you have further questions about the District Equity Team, please contact CSD's District Equity Coordinator - Dr. Mari Ann Banks mbanks@csdecatur.net. 

     

    School Equity Team Members:

    Each of the 10 schools in the CSD system has an active Equity Team. Team members are a cohort of teachers and administrators in each school, who have volunteered to serve with and are connected to each other through their desire to eliminate systemic racism toward students of color in CSD and inspire equitable outcomes for all students. Teams commit to provide and support professional development, educate students, and lead caretakers in each school toward fighting against racism in all its forms, examining personal prejudices, and executing CSD’s Equity Action Plan. This group inspires and creates the conditions for self-empowerment so that their school can work together effectively to achieve this common goal. If you have further questions about a School Equity Team, please contact one of the team leads listed below. 

     

    Equity Team Leaders:

    Individuals who have volunteered to serve as part of the District Equity Team and commit to leading their School's Equity Team, teachers, students, caretakers, and administrators toward fighting against racism in all its forms, examining personal prejudices, and executing CSD’s Equity Action Plan throughout the District. This individual inspires and creates the conditions for self-empowerment so that their Equity Team can coordinate work within the scope of the District Equity Action plan and work together to achieve this common goal. If you have further questions about a specific school's Equity Team, please contact one of the team leads listed below.

     

     

    2019 - 2020 District Equity Team Members

    (Equity Team Leaders are designated with an asterisk *)

     

    School

    Name

    Role

    Email Address

    Early Childhood Learning Center

    *Sarah Garland

    Director

    sgarland@csdecatur.net

    Early Childhood Learning Center

    *Karla Zisook

    Instructional Coach

    kzisook@csecatur.net

    Early Childhood Learning Center

    *Ebony Sowell- Franklin

    Teacher

    esowell-franklin@csdecatur.net 

    Clairemont Elementary School

    *Curtis Armour

    Principal

    carmour@csdecatur.net

    Clairemont Elementary School

    *Zeke Alejandro

    Instructional Coach

    zalejandro@csdecatur.net

    Glennwood Elementary School

    *Kristy Beam

    Principal

    dwatson@csdecatur.net

    Glennwood Elementary School

    *Jonathan Blase

    Counselor

    jblase@csdecatur.net

    Glennwood Elementary School

    *Jill Tolsma

    Instructional Coach

    jtolsma@csdecatur.net

    Oakhurst Elementary School

    *Tanisha Sanders

    Principal

    mfowler@csdecatur.net

    Oakhurst Elementary School

    *Michelle Reynolds

     

    mireynolds@csdecatur.net

    Westchester Elementary School

    *Rochelle Lofstrand

    Principal

    rlofstrand@csdecatur.net

    Westchester Elementary School

    *Jonathan Blase

    Counselor

    jblase@csdecatur.net

    Westchester Elementary School

    *Wanda Nesbitt

    Vice Principal

    wnesbitt@csdecatur.net

    Westchester Elementary School

    *Jennifer Querubin

    Teacher

    jquerubin@csdecatur.net

    Winnona Park Elementary School

    *Ruth Scott

    Principal

    rscott@csdecatur.net

    Winnona Park Elementary School

    *Kara Morrison

    Teacher

    kmorrison@csdecatur.net

    4/5 Academy at Fifth Avenue

    *Karen Newton

    Principal

    knewton@csdecatur.net

    4/5 Academy at Fifth Avenue

    *Lynn Hanson

    Vice Principal

    lhanson@csdecatur.net

    Renfroe Middle School  

    *Greg Wiseman

    Principal

    gwiseman@csdecatur.net

    Renfroe Middle School  

    *Charlie McAdoo

    Teacher

    cmcadoo@csdecatur.net

    Renfroe Middle School  

    *Sarah Talton-Buck

    Assistant Principal

    stalton-buck@csdecatur.net

    Decatur High School

    *Wes Hatfield

    Interim Principal

    whatfield@csdecatur.net

    Decatur High School

    *Ayoka Shakir

    Teacher

    ashakir@csdecatur.net

    Talley St. Upper Elementary

    *Billy Heaton

    Principal

    bheaton@csdecatur.net

    Talley St. Upper Elementary

    *Vera Jemison

     

    vjemison@csdecatur.net

    Talley St. Upper Elementary

    *Tiffany Lundy

     

    tlundy@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    Daryl Campbell

    Executive Director of Curriculum & Instruction

    dcampbell@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    David Dude

    Superintendent

    superintendent@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    Heidi Whatley

    Director of Research & Analytics

    hwhatley@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    Christen Gibbons

    Gifted Coordinator

    cgibbons@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    Cynthia Brown

    Administrative Assistant

    cbrown@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    *Lillie Huddleston

    Executive Director of Equity & Student Support

    lhuddleston@csdecatur.net 

    Wilson Center

    Madge Willis

    RTI Specialist

    mwillis@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    Marcia Fowler

      mfowler@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    Ashaki Stinson

    Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent

    astinson@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    Maggie Fehrman

    Executive Director of Schools

    mfehrman@csdecatur.net

    Wilson Center

    *Mari Ann Banks

    District Equity Coordinator

    mbanks@csdecatur.net